Deadline Alert:Michigan Marijuana Facility Applications Due… Download an Application Now

Which West Virginia Medical Cannabis Business Permit Will You Apply For?

by Faith Fidura January 11, 2018

Upcoming West Virginia Medical Cannabis Business Opportunities

Governor Jim Justice signed Senate Bill 386, known as the Medical Cannabis Act, on April 19, 2017, making the medicinal use of marijuana for qualifying patients legal. Patients will be able to obtain medical cannabis in the following forms: pill, oil,
topical forms including gels, creams, or ointments, a form medically appropriate for administration by vaporization or nebulization, tincture, liquid, or dermal patch.

It is anticipated that the state will begin accepting applications for medical cannabis business permits in the first quarter of 2018. The Bureau of Public Health is the regulating department and is in the process of drafting temporary rules needed to implement the Act. Those rules will outline the program’s operation and provide details on the application process. While the Bureau is working on that, they have published proposed emergency rules available for public comment.

Counties have the authority to ban medical cannabis organizations completely or limit the number of locations within the county. Licensee holders must be compliant with municipal zoning and land use requirements.

Which Medical Cannabis Business Do You Want to Own?

There are four different types of medical cannabis business licenses in West Virginia. Review the information below to decide which license best fits your interest.

Have you always wanted to grow cannabis?

A grower’s permit is necessary for the operation of a business to grow cannabis for medicinal use by qualified patients. The state is to award up to 10 grower permits, which allow for up to two locations per permit. No more than one individual grower permit may be issued to a person. Those who hold a grower or processor permit may not be issued a dispensary permit.

There will be a nonrefundable $5,000 application fee and a $50,000 registration fee required during the submission of the application. If the permit is not awarded to the applicant, the registration fee will be refunded.

Do you want to process cannabis into other forms?

A processor’s permit is necessary for the operation of a business to process cannabis into other forms for medicinal use by qualified patients. The state is to award up to 10 processor permits. No more than one individual processor permit may be issued to a person. Those who hold a grower or processor permit may not be issued a dispensary permit.

There will be a nonrefundable $5,000 application fee and a $50,000 registration fee required during the submission of the application. If the permit is not awarded to the applicant, the registration fee will be refunded.

Want to dispense medical cannabis to qualified patients?  

A dispensary permit is necessary for the operation of a business to dispense the allowed forms of cannabis for medicinal use to qualified patients. The state is to award up to 30 dispensary permits, with no more than 5 in any region. No more than two individual dispensary permits may be issued to a person.

There will be a nonrefundable $2,500 application fee and a $10,000 registration fee for each dispensary location. If the permit is not awarded to the applicant, the registration fees will be refunded.

Know Which Permit You Would Like to Apply for?

Contact us for more information by filling in our contact form or calling 602-621-0648.