Movement for Marijuana Legalization
As states continue to introduce legislation and initiatives to legalize marijuana, the Dispensary Permits team will keep you informed with our Weekly State Updates. If you missed last week’s updates, you can view them here. Since then, the following legislation has been introduced:
The following states introduced legislation to allow qualified patients to possess and consume cannabidiol, a marijuana derivative.
Virginia – The state received 49 applications from companies pursuing one of the state’s five medical cannabis business licenses.
The following states introduced legislation to allow qualified patients to possess and consume medical marijuana.
Arkansas – On June 21, 2018, the Supreme Court ruled that Pulaski County Judge Wendell Griffen did not have jurisdiction to stop the awarding of medical marijuana business licenses. The state’s medical marijuana program can now continue to be implemented.
Delaware – House Bill 374 to add glaucoma and chronic debilitating migraines to the list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana was passed by legislature and now awaits a signature from the Governor.
Florida – Administrative Law Judge John Van Laningham has recommended that the state grant a medical marijuana license to a South Florida nursery.
New York – On June 18th, the state Department of Health announced that individuals with an opioid prescription now qualify to use medical marijuana as an alternative treatment.
Oklahoma – Governor Mary Fallin announced that if the medical marijuana measure passes on June 26th, she will call the Legislature back for a special session to create the framework and rules for the initiative.
Rhode Island – The Governor has approved the state budget that includes a proposal to increase the annual license fee for medical marijuana dispensaries from $5,000 to $250,000.
Texas – The state's Republican Party passed a platform supporting major changes in medical marijuana laws.
Utah – Lieutenant Governor Spencer Cox and the sponsors of the medical marijuana ballot initiative in Utah are asking a federal judge to dismiss a lawsuit over whether it can go on the ballot before voters in November.
The following states introduced legislation to allow individuals 21 years of age and older to possess and consume marijuana.
Colorado – The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment hopes to expand on the state's nine currently funded medical marijuana studies by offering nearly $3 million more in grants for qualified research efforts. Preliminary applications will be accepted until July 20th.
Delaware – On June 30, 2018 the Delaware legislature will vote on House Bill 110 to legalize the recreational use of marijuana. The bill needs a three-fifths majority to pass.
Maine – Efficiency Maine, the state’s energy-efficiency program, has decided that it is too risky to give out its grants to state-licensed cannabis businesses, because they operate outside of federal law.
Massachusetts – On June 21st the state issued its first recreational marijuana cultivation license to Sira Naturals of Milford. The company has also applied for a retail license.
Interested in Opening a Marijuana Business in One of These States?
Gain more information on your state of interest by filling out our contact form. A Dispensary Permits team member will respond to your request within 48 hours.
You can also schedule an hour consultation with one of our industry experts to ask questions, discuss concerns, and gain insight on best next steps for starting a marijuana business: Schedule Now.