Top government officials in Georgia including Gov. Brian Kemp, House Speaker David Ralston and Lt. Gov. Geoff Duncan, appointed seven members to the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission on November 12, 2019. This will allow for the drafting of guidelines to begin to license, establish and regulate medical cannabis businesses.
Members of the commission include the principal surgeon for the Atlanta Neurological and Spine Institute and now appointed chairman of the committee Dr. Christopher Edwards, three additional doctors, a health policy professor, a police chief and a small business owner.
The appointments come nearly seven months after legislation allowing for the in-state production and sale of marijuana oil was passed in April 2019. The legislation, or Georgia’s Hope Act, ended an inconsistency in the state’s original 2015 medical marijuana law that allowed patients to possess medical marijuana, but failed to create a legal channel for obtaining it.
Now, the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission can begin to craft a medical marijuana supply system, establish testing and oversight procedures and issue licenses for businesses that will allow them to produce marijuana oil consisting of less than 5% THC to the state’s nearly 15,000 registered patients. Legal possession for patients will be up to 20 fluid ounces.
Under Georgia’s state law, the use of medical marijuana oil can be used for severe seizures, terminal cancer and Parkinson’s disease.
Georgia Medical Cannabis Business Licensing Details
The committee will be responsible for issuing two (2) Class 1 Production licenses, which will allow indoor cultivation up to 100,000 square feet and the production of low-THC oil. A $25,000 non-refundable application fee will be required as well as an initial $200,000 licensing fee and $100,000 annual renewal fees.
In addition, four (4) Class 2 Production licenses will also be issued that will allow for up to 50,000 square feet of indoor cultivation and the production of low-THC oil. Applicants will pay a $5,000 non-refundable fee as well as an initial $100,000 licensing fee and $50,000 annual renewal fee.
The commission has not yet set a date for license applications. All licensees must be operational within a year of licensure or risk the possibility of having their license revoked. Smoking or vaporizing medical marijuana will remain illegal in the state under the current law.
Additionally, the commission will be authorized to develop an annual, nontransferable dispensing license for retail outlets to dispense low THC oil to registered patients. The number of licenses available, application fee, license fee, and license renewal fee are to be determined if the commission develops such a license for retail outlets.
Begin Preparing for Georgia Medical Cannabis Business Applications
If you’re interested in establishing a medical marijuana business in Georgia, you can begin preparing with our Georgia Marijuana Business Starter Package.
Within the Georgia package, you will receive helpful templates from crafting by industry experts including:
- An Informational Overview of Georgia’s medical marijuana laws
- An Application Guide & Checklist for a detailed summary and checklist of over 100 action items you'll need to complete before submitting your application
- A Business Plan Template to help you draft an executive summary for your business
- A Financial Plan Template to give you and your investors a comprehensive 3-year projection of what to expect when operating a medical marijuana business