Update: Governor Brian Kemp signed House Bill 324 into law on April 17, 2019 to allow for the licensing of medical marijuana producers to cultivate and process low-THC oil for registered patients.
Georgia is About to Legalize Medical Marijuana Production and Sales
House Bill 324 was approved by the Georgia Legislature on April 2, 2019 to provide patients who are already allowed to possess low THC high CBD marijuana oil safe, legal access to the product. The bill now heads to the governor’s desk, where he is expected to sign it into law today, April 3, 2019.
Current state law allows individuals with 16 specific conditions, including cancer, seizure disorders and Parkinson's disease, to possess the low THC high CBD medical marijuana oil. Until now, the law failed to establish a safe, legal way for the patients to access to oil. The new law will establish a state-regulated dispensing system of medical marijuana through licensed medical marijuana producers, pharmacies, and retail outlets.
Georgia Medical Marijuana Business Licensing
The new law outlines that the State Board of Pharmacy will develop an annual, nontransferable specialty dispensing license for a pharmacy to dispense low THC oil to registered patients.
Additionally, a newly established Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission (commission) will be authorized to develop an annual, nontransferable dispensing license for retail outlets to dispense low THC oil to registered patients. The amount of licenses available, application fee, license fee, and license renewal fee is to be determined if the commission develops such a license for retail outlets.
The commission will issue nontransferable designated university licenses for the production of low THC oil to the University of Georgia and Fort Valley State University, separately or jointly, to produce, manufacture, and purchase low THC oil.
The commission may also issue the following production licenses through an application process open to the general public:
A Class 1 Production License to grow cannabis only in indoor facilities for use in producing low THC oil, limited to 100,000 square feet of cultivation space, and to manufacture low THC oil.
The commission shall issue two (2) Class 1 production licenses. A Class 1 Production License requires a non-refundable application fee of $25,000, an initial license fee of $200,000 and license renewal fee of $100,000.
A Class 2 Production License to grow cannabis only in indoor facilities for use in producing low THC oil, limited to 50,000 square feet of cultivation space, and to manufacture low THC oil.
The commission shall issue four (4) Class 2 production licenses. A Class 2 Production License requires a non-refundable application fee of $5,000, an initial license fee of $100,000 and license renewal fee of $50,000.
Begin Preparing for Georgia Medical Marijuana Business Opportunities
If you plan on applying for a medical marijuana business license in Georgia, it’s best to begin preparing now to increase your chances of success. With the limited amount of Production Licenses available, the application process will be extremely competitive. Begin educating yourself on what will be involved in the application process with our Marijuana Business Starter Package. The package includes:
- An Informational Overview of Georgia’s marijuana laws
- An Application Guide & Checklist for a detailed summary and checklist of over 100 action items you'll need to complete before submitting your application
- A Business Plan Template to help you draft an executive summary for your business
- A Financial Plan Template to give you and your investors a comprehensive 3-year projection of what to expect when operating a medical marijuana business